University of Phoenix aims to cut dropouts

University of Phoenix aims to cut dropouts

University of Phoenix plans to roll out a new student-orientation program across the country this fall.

The move by the nation’s largest private university, aimed at improving graduation rates by weeding out students not ready for college and better preparing others, comes after several months of testing.

The University of Phoenix is one of the universities where I teach. I like their new requirement of having students take a manditory preparation training program. I see a lot of students that are just not prepared fully for college-level courses. I know the UOP stock took a hit from this, due to anticipation of lower enrollment growth initially, but I think it will be a good thing for students and UOP in the long run.